UG on the GG

golden_globe_2008

Watching the Golden Globes and just saw the match up for Best Motion Picture-Musical or Comedy. Two of the nominees were In Bruges and Vicky Cristina Barcelona. Last year, Josie and I traveled to both Bruges and Barcelona and I also happened to see the two films and the winner was clearly correct.

I actually saw In Bruges with Josie before our trip and was curious why Colin Farrell continually dumped on Bruges it looked beautiful. Well, after visiting there for only three hours I completely understood. After arriving by train we hopped on a bus and decided to get off at the city center. We unknowingly passed the “city” center and our bus driver changed at a stop. Our new driver took us to the last stop and then said we had to get off because it was his break. We laughed as he worked a total of four minutes before needing a break. He said he would pick us back up in 15 minutes and we were stranded in a residential neighborhood. He returned and asked how we missed our stop, the city center, and we said, “you mean where the four shops were?” Anyway, I am glad that Colin Farrell won the Golden Globe for best actor in a comedy or musical but the acting wasn’t that difficult Bruges is just that sleepy. Everyone was over 60 and they are all on tours following their flagged leader.

img_0039

Here is a picture I took while in Bruges.

Barcelona was a far superior city and is worthy of being an award winner. Barcelona did subject me to, one of the things I hate more than anything, a tongue in my ear. However, it also introduced me to one of the best dishes I ever had. At Noti, we tried the PEAR FAGOTTI (FRESH FILLED PASTA), PARMESAN CREAM AU GRATIN and it was A-MAZ-ING. I am a foodie who loves fruit and wants it almost every dish. Something about this pear filled pasta just did it for me, it was like a grown up macaroni and cheese and it rocked my world.

Here was my not so pleasant Barcelona moment and one of my favorite pictures.

img_1546

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

