Restaurant Week: Vertical Wine Bistro

img_0883

Since I was out of town most of last week, we didn’t get started on Dine LA: Restaurant Week until Week 2. We have both been wanting to try Vertical Wine Bistro forever and were quite impressed by their menu for the Dine LA week, so naturally it was a good fit to kick off our 3-course price fixed adventure.

It was Super Bowl Sunday and Josie was at a football party prior to our meal and I was studying for an accounting midterm the next day (today, what I should still be doing right now). I am not really a sports person and as I was doing homework and watching Sober House I was listening to people screaming and I was like “Oh my good someone is dying” I then remembered it is just Super Bowl Sunday. Not to be a complete Debbie Downer (as I was called last night via a text) but Super Bowl Sunday is the worst day for domestic violence. My ex boyfriend use to always say, “Makes sense, I can imagine how many wives and girlfriends think it is important to stand in front of the TV at the most important moment of the game and have a “heart to heart” long talk.” Asshole, but it is a little tiny weeny bit funny.

Back to the meal. This is the special Dine LA menu:

$34 Dinner

DINNER
Appetizers
Choice 1 Steamed P.E.I. Mussels with Chili, Mint and Tomatoes
Choice 2 Roasted Beets with Avocado, Orange and Watercress
Choice 3 Salt Cod Brandade with Bitter Greens, Pine Nut-Raisin Relish and Grilled Croutons
Entrees
Choice 1 Lamb Osso Bucco with Harissa and Couscous
Choice 2 Braised Mustard Rabbit with Roast Carrots and Gingered Pears
Choice 3 Grilled Red Snapper with Bouillabaisse Broth and Olive Oil Mashed Potatoes
Desserts
Choice 1 St. Agur Bleu Cheese with Grapes and Walnuts
Choice 2 Chocolate Molten Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream
Choice 3 Ricotta Cheesecake with Fresh Berries and Whipped Cream

I started with the restaurant week Wine flight and Josie started with a Chimay.

img_0877

Josie ordered:

  • Beet Salad
  • Lamb Osso Bucco
  • Ricotta Cheesecake

Carina Ordered:

  • Salted Cod
  • Rabbit
  • Riccota Cheesecake

Josie won for doing a better job clearing all 3 of her plates and for her uncouth gourmand moment of the night. She spilled roasted red pepper tapanade on her shoe and sent the butter knife flying.

img_0880

img_0878

Carina wins for the awkward turtle moment of the night when I said, “It feels strange of me to put rabbit and a carrot on the same bite.” Ah, irony. My favorite course was the first. I loved the toppings as golden raisins and pine nuts are my favorite toppers, the only thing that could have improved it was dried cranberries. I like fruit paired with all food and the pears with the rabbit were also fantastic, what can I say I am a fruity girl. The salted cod brandade was delicious, I looked at Josie and said, “I have had this exact dish before, where was it at?” She correctly remembered at the Champs Elysees in Paris. I have to say the version at Vertical Wine Bistro was better.

img_0881

Overall, a great meal and ambiance (we were right next to the fireplace)  hopefully we will be able to try some more places before Restaurant Week ends on Friday. When I got home and watched the only part of the Super Bowl Sunday I cared about – The Office, Big Love, and the United States of Tara (MNFS- my new favorite show) I got a text that said, “I just ate the biggest cheeseburger, jealous?” The answer is N-O!

2 Comments

  1. […] on hitting up is Cafe Bizou and Red White + Bluezz. Also I was really impressed by our meal at Vertical Wine Bistro during DineLA week, so may talk the wife (aka Josie) into revisiting there. We recommend skipping […]

  2. Great tale and photos. (We spilled the roasted pepper too!) We live only a few miles from Vertical, so we try to stop by regularly. We do love the new chef’s Short Ribs, and the after-dinner cheeses are wonderful. We tend to go after the dinner crowd has disappeared, when the dining room is cozy. The sommelier (aka “wine pimp”) is always thrilled to pair up some wines for you.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

