Top 5 Female TV Characters that the UGs Admire

This list came to me for several different reasons. First, I just read the Top 10 Food Movies: Eat, Drink, Watch article from the LA Weekly. Second, we have almost had our blog up for 1 year and the very first post I wrote was entitled Famous Fictional Foodies. Third, I read this very interesting article regarding the type casting for the so-called Skinny Glutton. Lastly, as we have become Uncouth Gourmands and coined the term we must pay homage to the women on TV that have taught us so very much!

1. Grace Adler

I’ll admit it. I, Carina Ost, am obsessed with Grace Adler. She is all that I want to be in the world. I got the neurotic Jewish girl that is obsessed with food part down, now I just need the gay best friend. The reason why Grace tops the list can be found in nearly episode. She, like me, loves raisins in everything, knows that one should always be equal distance from a Krispy Kreme and a gym, and knows that the relationship between Jews and chicken is real and it’s deep.

Will: Where’s all the Chinese food?
Grace: Oh, I opened it up and started to eat it and then I noticed a
hair in it. So I called the restaurant to complain and they were
like “Well, how do you know its not your hair?” and I said “Well, I
know what my hair tastes like.” Anyway, I got so disgusted, I threw
it all out.
Will: You ate all of it, didnt you?
Grace: Yes, I did.

2. Liz Lemon

Sure Liz Lemon has used a wedding dress as a napkin, wants 5 pounds of lobster meat, and pooped a little in her pants at a Country Steaks all-you-can-eat buffet but didn’t leave until she finished her second plate of shrimp. However, Liz Lemon has uttered the truest statement about life and humanity that I have ever heard.

“Can I share with you my worldview? All of humankind has one thing in common: the sandwich. I believe that all anyone really wants in this life is to sit in peace and eat a sandwich.” –  Liz Lemon, 30 Rock

3. Lucy Ricardo

Lucy is the original foodie redhead. She is a woman that hates healthy food and is fine stomping grapes and hiding chocolate in her hat and shirt. Plus, in true UG fashion, she is more into eating and less into cooking.

Ricky Ricardo: [sees pancakes on his plate] Hey! Tortillas!
Lucy Ricardo: [sarcastically] Yeah. I made them out of Aunt Jemima Tortilla Mix.
Ricky Ricardo: Oh, I keep forgetting here in America you call them Flap Cakes.
Lucy Ricardo: Come again?
Ricky Ricardo: Hot Jacks?
Lucy Ricardo: You were closer with tortillas. They are Hot Cakes!
Ricky Ricardo: Oh!
[tastes some]
Ricky Ricardo: No, these are Cold Cakes

4. Rhoda Morgenstern

As much as Mary Tyler Moore turned the world on with her smile, she never got the importance of food that her next door neighbor had. Rhoda got it but had some guilt associated with her indulgences, something that the modern UGs try to avoid. However, I love that Rhoda got what food meant.

Mary Richards: Oh Rhoda, chocolate doesn’t solve anything.
Rhoda Morgenstern: No Mare, cottage cheese solves nothing; chocolate can do it all!


5. Miss Piggy

You can’t get more uncouth than a pig but Mrs. Piggy is just oh so glamorous. She has no problem always having food at hand and toying with Kermit. She is a real UG idol: sexy, confident, and a pig!

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and it may be necessary from time to time to give a stupid or misinformed beholder a black eye.- Miss Piggy

3 Comments

  1. Great list! I love Liz Lemon and her food obsessions. Remember when she thought she was pregnant because she was had eaten some shady, poor mans Doritos?

    • Ha, I know, she is fantastic. I also love when she said to never use the word lovers unless it is between the words “meat” and “pizza”

  2. […] agree wholeheartedly with my TV foodie icon Liz Lemon that, “All of humankind has one thing in common: the sandwich.” In fact, I […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

