Fast Food in the New Year & Rose Parade!

It’s a new year and you know what that means, silly resolutions. I am sure that atleast 80% of these have something to do with fitness and weight loss. In fact, I find it perfectly fitting that on NYE before I went out I saw a commercial for the new Taco Bell Drive-Thru Diet. For this venture they have a spokeswoman named Christine, who lost weight from eating the new fresco menu at T. Bell. She is the equivalent to Jared of Subway fame. I, for one, like the concept. I am a strong proponent that fast food isn’t bad as long as you know calorie content and most restaurants that you and I dine at are far worse for you. I think that McDonald’s has an unneccesarily bad wrap, and I am not talking about that snack wrap. My favorite thing, a chicken nugget happy meal (with a Diet Coke), clocks in at only 420 calories. If you know me, than you know I love boot shaped chicken nuggets with sweet & sour sauce so add an extra 50 calories for the sauce. Anyway, I am excited to try the new Taco Bell Drive-Thru Diet menu and I was stunned when my whole New Year’s Day was visited by fast food spokespeople, mascots, and more. I am nuts and despite getting home from NYE at 3:30A I was up at 7:30A to walk to the Rose Parade. I live only two blocks away and I am still new enough to Pasadena to love it. One of the first floats had the lovely Jack of Jack in The Box. I love him and that bowl haircut commercial was one of my favorites of 2009.

I was never a kid that was scared of clowns and seeing Ronald McDonald on the float elicited nothing but happiness. The float actually stopped right in front of me and I got to see him, the Original Gangsta Ginger, take a sip of water…scandalous.

The last of the fast food spokespeople I saw was Jared. I love Jared but I absolutely detest Subway. I like the calorie content and price but I have never been able to eat more than 2 bites of any Subway sandwich. As far as chain fast food delis go I am a Togo’s  and Jeresy Mike’s kind of a girl.

Anyway, as we are in the new year and you may or may not be 4 days in to your resolution remember that fast food eateries and their likeness are everywhere. You need to not fear it but rather embrace it and make smart decisions so your diet can handle the drive-thru’s of life. In case, you are interested in some Rose Parade pictures that don’t contain fast food personalities here are some for you. The Grand Marshal was the heroic Captain Sully. Although, the people in hazmat suits that were designated pooper scoopers for the day received a heroes welcome in my section as they walked behind all of the horses, ponies, and donkeys.

My favorite float of the day was the snowboarding bulldogs and if they are interested they can be the UG Girls mascot for 2010. Not to boast but I think they can be bigger than the old Taco Bell mascot, the “Yo quiero Taco Bell” Chihuahua.

2 Comments

  1. Even though the calorie level is down, the sodium levels in the taco bell “diet” menu are through the roof. Maybe okay once in a while, but still shouldn’t qualify as healthy.

  2. Never realized how much fast food was in the parade! My favorite float was the sledding dogs. As far as the taco bell diet, I wouldn’t swear by it but knowing the calorie count definitely helps.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

