A Microwave Poached Egg: Breakfast of a UG Champ

Photo Credit to NotAHipster on Flickr

There are certain times where and when convenience should not trump taste. If you are a gourmand, one that over-indulges in fine food and drink, scrambled eggs in the microwave may not qualify as “good food.” It doesn’t to me. It is rubbery and disgusting and I’d rather dirty a frying pan, spatula, and have my house smell of eggs than eat such a concoction. However, that is not the case with microwave poached eggs. Poaching eggs is a very difficult task it requires a certain temperature water, a slotted spoon, a paper towel, and a lot of patience. In the words of Homey D. Clown, “I don’t think so… Homey don’t play dat!” I have no qualms about using a microwave, I am uncouth. Although, I am not a savage and know only morons would use a microwave to reheat pizza. With that said, if you love a good poached egg then use the microwave. It is quick, simple, and has minimal clean-up. It is my typical breakfast and was going to email this video to Josie, who asked for it, and then realized I might as well share it with all of you. There is no talking and pretty music, so please enjoy and get your microwaved poached egg on.

Here are a few of my tips:

-Add salt to the water before you add the egg

-I microwave my egg for 48 seconds

-I use potato bread for that smushier (technical word) quality

-Sprinkle the two P’s, pepper and paprika, as soon as the egg is on top of the bread

3 Comments

  1. Do you actually avoid egg explosions this way? I love microwaved eggs (don’t hate me) but I have major problems avoiding the explosions if I don’t open the door every 5 seconds.

    I found the music hilarious as an accompaniment to microwaved egg poaching, btw.

  2. Nothing wrong with the microwaved eggs! 🙂

  3. Great video! I’ve tried microwaving eggs before, but didn’t add water. Thanks for the tips.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

