Boner Petit: Uncouth Restaurant Names

Photo Credit to Food Network Humor

I recently stumbled across an article on the 35 Worst Restaurant Names in the World. I was instantly fascinated, because along with being uncouth, I am a lover of words and restaurants. The first photo comes from Food Network Humor and the restaurant is located in England. It combines the title of two things most people hate, I tend to be fans of both. This got me thinking about restaurant names in our very own City of Angels. I have a couple of local of favorites that I wanted to share with you. My Top 4 Worst (Best) Names are Polka Polish, Pink Taco, My Taco, and Toe Bang.

Photo Credit to Rosie Y. on Yelp

4. Polka Polish is located in Glendale and offers all traditional fare along with positive inspirational quote covering the menu. As much as I enjoyed my stuffed cabbage and pierogis, I was too busy thinking funny thoughts about the restaurant name. I was with my friend that’s a Pole and I walked in declaring, “I’ve come to Poke a Polish.” This restaurant is such a trip inside with the owner that wears suspenders attached to his jeans and the outdated decor that they don’t need a punny name, but I love it. I will conclude this with my favorite Polish joke:

Q: Where do the Polish hide their armies?
A: In their sleevies

3. Pink Taco is a  restaurant that I tend to see as a glorified Hooters. However, I love that the name is so directly uncouth. Also, I went and got good seafood (pun always intended). My shrimp tacos were more than decent. Plus, my server at the one in Century City was the daughter of Jeana formerly of the Real Housewives of Orange County.  Here is the uncouth sign lighting the streets of LA.

2. My Taco is some great Mexican food in Highland Park. Yes, Jonathan Gold is right in saying their Barbacoa/Birria is great. It is also run by the family of the sous chef of Palate Food + Wine. However, the thing I love most about My Taco is all of the puns and jokes that can be made: Wanna eat My Taco tonight? My Taco is delicious. I love My Taco. I had My Taco right before my trip to Costa Rica and absolutely love the food and how many laughs it ensues.

Photo Credit to RDizzle E. on Yelp

1. Toe Bang is a Korean restaurant in K-Town that I have never eaten at or heard of prior to reading the list on Food Network Humor. I love the name. In fact, I remember having to read a book in Jr. High where a nanny lets a servant do naughty things with his toes to her. Seeing as how it has a solid 4 stars on Yelp it is definitely a place worth checking out.

Photo Credit to Food Network Humor

Please let us know if you have have found any great uncouth restaurant names in LA. I could have sworn there was a Pho King on Valley Blvd but after a long internet search I believe it closed down. Although, Gastronomer did go to a Pho King in San Diego. As much as I like the names of the restaurants I chose, it is clear that one is the Pho King best!

1 Comment

  1. hahah! Love this article. There’s a Pho restaurant in Seattle called “What the pho”


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

