Get Stinky With Me: A Gourmand’s Love for Artisanal Cheese

Photo Credit: cheeseandchampagne.com

Mt. Tam: This Uncouth Gourmand is usually quite the glutton, however, this weekend I experienced the delicacy of a cheese that could only be experienced in slow but indulgent doses. The cheese I am talking about is Mt Tam from the ladies at Cowboy Creamery in Northern California. It is described as “buttery with an earthiness and essence of white mushrooms”. It wasn’t the first time I’d tried this buttery beauty, but for some reason – I don’t know if it was the time or the place – but the cheese shook me. Shook, in a good way, that is. Its creaminess was unparalleled and I devoured it like the flesh of a lover you just can’t seem to get enough of. The downside is that it’s quite pricey; maybe $18. You can get it at your local Bristol Farms or here.

Humboldt Fog: If you’d like a surge of adrenaline to wake you up from the mindless sleepwalking we do on a daily basis, then you need to try this mold-ripened gem from the folks at Cypress Grove Chevre in Arcata, CA. This goat’s cheese is runny and acidic and  let’s just say it tastes like money. I never thought I’d taste something so sophisticated in my life! Like the Mt. Tam, you can find the Homboldt Fog at Bristol Farms or here.

Photo Credit: thenibbles.com

Burrata: If you live in the world AND have sized up any trendy menu in LA, you know that burrata is a chef’s meow. My over stimulation to burrata has forced me to boycotting it at restaurants. However, as I was compiling my list of favorite cheeses, I asked my Twitterazi friends about some suggestions and AtYour_Serice recommended Mozza’s burrata. It was at my desk at work that I relived my love for burrata almost immediately. It’s gooey yet firm on the outside. Yum! Downside: VERY short fridge life, but if you’re like me, it won’t make it past a day. I believe you can find pretty generic stuff at your neighborhood Trader Joe’s and if you want to splurge for the good stuff, any gourmet cheese shop like Nicole’s in South Pasadena carries it.

Photo Credit: cheeseonline.co.uk

Dolce Gorgonzola: This stuff is special. You’re not likely to run into this stuff at just any place. It’s shipped directly from Italy and unlike most blues, this is far less flakey and much more stinky. In fact, it’s not as veiny nor as sour as a Maytag, but instead creamier and silkier. But don’t let it’s benign exterior fool you because once you open the wrapper, you’ll be almost certain this one has gone bad. Of course, it hasn’t. And if you can get past it’s pungent aroma, you will believe you died and went to cheese heaven. Tough to find, but worth the search.
Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

