Neighborhood Profile: Beverly Hills

Josie and I have a bad habit of not liking to go west of La Cienga unless we are going straight to Santa Monica/Venice. We try and venture into West LA but we are Eastside Girls at heart. We were invited last night to the 25 Year Anniversary Party of Bombay Palace and that was our catalyst for a full night in Beverly Hills. Josie, always uncouth, invited our friend who happens to be Indian to the party in BH’s premier Indian restaurant and he in turn invited us to another swinging BH party. The event was the exhibit opening of Andreas Gurskey at the Gagosian Gallery. The plan was to meet at the exhibit at 6:30 and then head to the Bombay Palace for the celebration. Josie was uncharacteristically early, I was a little late from an out of character coffee date (I normally demand a full dinner), and our friend Arun who is always early was late after hours in traffic. Josie warned me that Diane Von Furstenberg, Michael Moore, and Adrian Brody were already there. Arun got a spotting of Jeremy Piven eating his food outside Mr. Chow’s with the valet. It became clear that on this week, prior to the Oscar’s, Beverly Hills was more celebrity infested than ever. I love going to art galleries and these giant photographs were striking but it became clear that at this “sceney” event the only thing on display was everyone there. I found myself admiring the red soled Louboutins that graced everyone’s feet at the event. It was nice but not for me.

We headed over to the Bombay Palace and were joined by Arun and his friend Roni. Over the course of the night we learned that Roni was from Tel Aviv and is the force behind The Band From, which is “probably the best surreal indie pop band to come from Beverly Hills.” The party was only a couple of hours in and the dance floor was already being hit hard. The sitar was being strummed and those Indian women had hips that wouldn’t lie. Josie was stalking the caterers holding platters and it was one of the most welcoming events we ever attended. The owners were placing food out for us and asking us to eat more. We felt more like we were at a private Indian wedding than a restaurant on Wilshire Blvd.

One person we were surprised to run into was Bill from Street Gourmet LA. Arun is an avid blog reader and was ecstatic to meet the Street Gourmet LA himself. He was quoting him and his most recent posts. Josie and I were a little jealous as we credit Arun as our first fan. The event was fantastic and in the invitation it said the party would be going until 10p. At around 9:30 I was stuffed from all of the platters endlessly being passed but leave it to Josie at that minute to see a buffet line being formed and grab Street Gourmet to grab a full plate of food with her. They were the food ballers of the night as Arun and I both made the “Oh, Josie” face.

During a night in Beverly Hills it is more than common to have a celebrity run-in. I had a very uncouth but fortunate version of this. I was in line for the bathroom and I heard a speech from the owners and then  I saw a young boy brought up on the stage. I remembered The Minty telling me that the last time she was at Bombay Palace her waiter was a cute young boy. When I returned to the dining room, I saw the boy and tapped him on the shoulder asking if he worked at the restaurant. He laughed and his friend said that he was brought up to the stage because he is the lead actor in a movie that was nominated for an Oscar. I looked up the film when I got home and it turns out this boy is a HUGE deal. His name is Sagar Salunke and he plays Kavi in a short film called Kavi, which is nominated as the Best Short Film, Live Action. I felt foolish but this kid was 100% the coolest actor I have ever met. Yes, Beverly Hills is hoity-toity but it is also a neighborhood with restaurants and people kind enough to invite you and make you feel like family.

4 Comments

  1. Some socialite blogger is way better at recognizing “famous” people than we are: http://thedailytruffle.com/2010/03/notes-from-an-oscar-party-thursday-march-4th/ Lots of folks from the world of fashion which likely explains that amazing outfits. However, I’m quite disappointed in that she didn’t make note of the UGs and Roni from From.

    • Josie got Brandon Davis, well actually, she said, “I don’t know how I know this but that guy that called Lindsey Lohan, “Fire crotch” is here.”

  2. Hey Josie and Carina, it was great hangin out at Bombay Palace with you and your friends. Glad you got a picture of the dance party that was going on. I think the guy in the yellow shirt was doing the Gumby dance, though. To the food ballers!

  3. […] to head to the event in Beverly Hills solo. We just wrote a post about the fun night we had in Beverly Hills and I was excited to return without all of the hype of Oscar Week. I have to say that I am SO […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

