Wanna Know How We Roll? Come to the Beef Roll Crawl!

Photo courtesy of Ron Diggity on Flickr

The Minty is one of our favorite foodie friends, our leader, and our Food Ballin Team Captain. We are merely her fans, followers, and crawlers. We are thrilled that this month, next week to be exact, she is organizing a Beef Roll Crawl for all of our friends.

I first had a beef roll in July at 101 Noodle Express and here were some highlights from my first time:

While I was waiting for my order an older Chinese woman who was dining alone received her order of a beef roll and was in astonishment. I was so impressed by her comment I quickly sent out a tweet that said, “At 101 Noodle Express for the beef roll and a woman just got hers and yelled ‘Oh my gosh so so big.'”

It was truly the greatest reaction ever and Tony C. (aka Sino Soul) responded to my tweet by saying, “Did you go: ‘I’ll have what she’s having’?” Luckily, I already had that big roll coming my way.

How can I describe the beef roll? Like the baby of the best of Mexico and the best of China wrapped in a cute snugly onion pancake. Ok so, backstory my best friend is from Tokyo and when she was first in the US she discovered a  love for burritos and referred to the tortilla portion as the burrito skin. It was an adorable phrase and she loved the tortilla best but that was always my least favorite part. I am a corn tortilla girl and always find flour tortillas to be sub par and low quality. So imagine my excitement to have the beef roll wrapped in a delicious puffy onion pancake with depth and amazing taste. The stuffing was simple, it was just tender beef and cilantro. However, there was something else, something sweet, soft, and delicious inside and I couldn’t figure out what it was. My first guess was caramelized onions but alas I was wrong it was the fat from the beef. Why the hell do people cut that part off? It is the best part ever, so soft and so sweet.  This roll was phenomenal and why this isn’t THE dish offered at every Chinese restaurant is beyond me.

Anyway, the UG girls are crazy about beef rolls and next Sunday, March 28th, we are hitting up 5 beef roll places in 4 hours. For a full list of the spots and times check the Minty’s schedule and RSVP on Facebook.

Sunday, March 28

Doe Jon Station 11 a.m.
46 W Las Tunas Drive

Arcadia, CA 91006
(626) 821-2088

101 Noodle Express 12 p.m.

1025 S Baldwin Ave
Arcadia, CA 91007

(626) 446-8855

Mandarin Noodle Deli 1 p.m.

9537 Las Tunas Drive
Temple City, CA 91780

(626) 309-4318

Michelle’s Pancake 2 p.m.

706 W Las Tunas Dr
San Gabriel, CA 91776

(626) 293-8098

Mama’s Kitchen 3 p.m.

1718 New Ave
San Gabriel, CA 91776

(626) 289-8984

If you wanna roll like a real food baller, then you must come to the Beef Roll Crawl! Don’t be a square, be a beef roll!

1 Comment

  1. teehee!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

